Historic Landmark Preservation Commission

The Historic Landmark Preservation Commission was established in 1999 to adopt and disseminate criteria for the designation of historical, cultural, architectural, archaeological, paleontological and natural landmarks and the delineation of historic districts; provides recommendations on landmarks and historic districts; and increase public awareness of the value of historic preservation.

The Commission consists of 12 members and 1 youth member who are appointed by the City Council.

General Information



Preserve America Designation

The Preserve America Communities program recognizes and designates communities that protect and celebrate their heritage, use their historic assets for economic development and community revitalization, and encourage people to experience and appreciate local historic resources through education and heritage tourism programs.

The City of Waco was designated as a 2007 Preserve America Community. This prestigious designation gives the City of Waco eligibility to apply for Preserve America Grants; the right to use the Preserve America logo on signs and promotional materials; notification to state tourism offices; and listing in a Web-based directory that showcases the City of Waco’s preservation efforts and heritage tourism destinations. Waco will also be featured in National Register Travel Itineraries and in “Teaching with Historic Places” curricular materials created by the National Park Service.

The Preserve America initiative is a national effort to encourage and support community efforts to preserve and enjoy America’s priceless cultural and natural heritage. The goals of the initiative include a greater shared knowledge about the nation’s past; strengthened regional identities and local pride; increased local participation in preserving the country’s cultural and natural heritage assets; and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

Preservation Excellence Awards

The Waco Historic Landmark Preservation Commission created the Preservation Excellence Awards program in the spring of 2005 to increase the community’s awareness of the importance of historic preservation to the City of Waco through recognition of outstanding efforts by individuals, businesses, private institutions, and public entities.

The Preservation Excellence Awards program is the only one of its kind in McLennan County. The first ceremony took place on September 14, 2005 at the Madison Cooper House. Since its establishment, awards have been presented to local preservationists annually.

Preservation Excellence Awards and locally designated historic landmarks differ in their intent. The Preservation Excellence Awards are intended to encourage, praise and thank local property owners and citizens for their commitment to historic preservation.

Candidates are chosen by the Historic Landmark Preservation Commission and nominations are accepted at any time.

Map of Local Historic Landmarks

View Waco's Historic Landmarks in a larger map

Helpful Links