WACO-MCLENNAN COUNTY LIBRARY

Get a Library Card

Who can get a FREE Library card?

Texas residents age 5 & older. Anyone under 18 must have a parent/guardian present and the parent/guardian will get a card too.

Where can I get a card?

You can fill out an application at any of our four locations. You can also print the application here and fill it out ahead of time.

What do I need to bring?

A valid picture ID and proof of residency.

Examples of acceptable IDs:

  • Driver's License
  • Department of Public Safety ID card
  • Resident Alien ID
  • Passport
  • Department of Corrections Photo ID
  • Military Photo ID

Examples of Proofs of Residency:

  • Mortgage, lease or rental agreement
  • Utility bill or cell phone bill
  • Bank statement
  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Postmarked envelope from an official source (e.g. bills, school district, government agency)

What if I don't have proof of residency?

You can get a computer use only card with your photo ID. This card is for in-library computer use only.

What if I'm a college student or temporary resident?

You can still get a card! Just bring the documentation listed above and fill out an application. Welcome to Waco!

Where can I use my card?

You can use your card at any of our four locations. Visit them all and find your favorite!

What if I lose my card?

Replacement cards are only $1.00. You can get a replacement card at any of our four locations.

What can I get with my card?

For 7 days, you can get only 1 item at a time. After 7 days, your library card can be used to check out 50 items at a time, including:

  • Books (up to 25 at a time)
  • DVDs (up to 5 at a time)
  • Audiobooks/Playaways/Music CDs (up to 15 at a time)
  • Literacy Kits (up to 2 at a time)
  • Kits (up to 5 at a time)

You can also use your card to get a Museum Pass and visit area museums for FREE!

How long can I keep my items?

  • Books, audiobooks and CDs check out for 21 days and may be renewed twice. Items are renewed from the date they are renewed (not the current due date). Log into your account and renew online here!
  • DVDs check out for 7 days and may not be renewed.

What if I don't bring my items back on time?

Fines and fees will be assessed for late, missing or damaged items:

  • Book/Audiobook/Music CD: $.20/item/day (up to the cost of the item)
  • DVD: $1.00/item/day (up to the cost of the item)
  • Lost/Damaged Items: Cost of item plus $5 processing fee

What if I need something from another Texas library?

You can get a TexShare card to borrow items from other participating Texas libraries. 
To learn more about using your TexShare card, visit their website.

You can also use Interlibrary Loan to borrow items from other libraries using your Waco-McLennan County Library Card.