Texas Residents age 5 & older may fill out an application for a library card at any of the four libraries in the Waco-McLennan County Library System.
Applicants must produce a valid picture I.D. and proof of residency dated within the last 30 days. An applicant under 18 years of age needs the signature and identification of a parent or legal guardian, who is present at the time of application and a library cardholder. All applicants must be present to receive a library card. For the cardholder's protection, your photo will be added to the account at the time the card is issued.
Examples of acceptable IDs:
Acceptable Proofs of Residency:
Computer use cards can be issued to use a computer in the library. Photo ID only is required to get a computer use card.
If you have any questions about identification or documentation, please call the library to clarify.
New cardholders may check out one item at a time for the first week after their card is issued. After 7 days, cardholders have full checkout privileges.
You may complete a library card application form below and bring it with your picture ID and proof of residency to any Waco-McLennan County Library.
Your card may be used at any of the four libraries.
All records pertaining to your library card registration and borrowed materials are confidential.
You may have up to 50 items checked out at a time.
Item Limits by Type:
Books, audiobooks and CDs check out for 21 days and may be renewed twice. Items are renewed from the date they are renewed (not the current due date).
Videos and DVDs check out for 7 days and may not be renewed.
A card is available for teachers to check out additional items to benefit their students.
Immediately inform the Library if you lose your card.
You are responsible for all items borrowed with your card before it is reported stolen or lost.
A replacement card costs $1.00.
Please notify the Library as soon as you change your name, address or phone number.
Book/Audiobook/Music CD: $.20/item/day
Maximum Fine: Cost of item
Damaged Items: Cost of item plus $5 processing fee
The TexShare card lets you borrow materials from other participating libraries in the state of Texas.
You must apply for a TexShare card at your library and then you may borrow from other participating libraries according to the rules they have set.
You must be a library card holder in good standing (no overdue or lost books and no library fines, and a checkout within the last two months) for six months to get a TexShare card from the Waco-McLennan County Library.
To learn more about using your TexShare card at other participating libraries, go to the TexShare website.